This website uses cookies
More information
Green Charter 2022
Green Charter 2022
Site Filter — Worldwide / All Aircraft
The monthly news publication for aviation professionals.
See more information from the Business Air News Handbook...
The monthly news publication for aviation professionals.

Request your printed copy

NBAA's Ed Bolen inducted to 2021 Hall of Fame
Since 1963, the International Air & Space Hall of Fame has honoured more than 200 of the world’s most significant aviation achievers. This year NBAA president and CEO Ed Bolen is among those being recognised.
Ed Bolen is to be honoured as one of the most talented figures in air and space.

NBAA president and CEO Ed Bolen has been inducted into the San Diego Air & Space Museum's International Air & Space Hall of Fame, in recognition of his decades of contributions to the aviation and aerospace industry.

“It is an enormous privilege to be part of the aviation community, and to be inducted into the International Air & Space Hall of Fame is an honour beyond description,” says Bolen.

Museum president and CEO James Kidrick adds: “The International Air & Space Hall of Fame represents those elite leaders and organisations that have made lasting contributions regarding aviation and space and who will be remembered as visionaries and risk takers, pioneers unwilling to live with the status quo knowing there can be better and more innovative solutions to even the most complex challenges. Ed Bolen is one of those.”

Bolen has led the NBAA since 2004, and prior to that was president and CEO of GAMA for eight years, elected 1996, having joined in 1995 as senior vice president and general counsel.

In 2001, he was appointed by President Bush to serve as a member of the Commission on the Future of the US Aerospace Industry. He was nominated by President Clinton and confirmed by the US Senate to serve as a member of the Management Advisory Council to the FAA, which he chaired from 2000 to 2004.

Bolen is a member of the board of directors of the National Aeronautic Association, and he serves on the aviation advisory board of the Mitre Corporation, a federally funded research and development business. He is also a former chair of RTCA and member of the aeronautics and space engineering board of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine.

Other 2021 inductees include: space shuttle commander Eileen Collins; astronaut Charlie Duke; Federal Express; former president and executive vice president of General Dynamics Bryan Moss; Dee O'Hara, the first aerospace nurse assigned to NASA's first seven astronauts; and the Commemorative Air Force.

Other News
ABACE postponed for 2022
January 6, 2022
Since its launch in 2012, ABACE has become big news in Asia, attracting more than 9,000 attendees. This year, once again, it is being postponed due to Covid-related travel restrictions. Fingers crossed for next year.
Industry calls for additional 5G mitigations
January 6, 2022
NBAA and NATA celebrate infrastructure legislation
November 9, 2021
See you in Florida, says NBAA, as convention ends for another year
October 22, 2021
Baldwin is honoured for lifetime of aviation safety
October 1, 2021
Don Baldwin is a lifelong safety advocate with over 30 years experience in supporting business aviation flight operations. He has more than 9,000 hours of accident and incident free flying.
4Air aims to reduce carbon emissions for NBAA exhibition
October 1, 2021