This website uses cookies
More information
Site Filter — Worldwide / All Aircraft
NBAA celebrates industry achievements with string of awards
'Tis the season for NBAA awards: the association has recognised its 2020 Flying Safety Award winners, nine Tony Kern award winners for professionalism, an Above and Beyond prize and its Top 40 under 40.

The NBAA has announced its 2020 Flying Safety Award recipients for 2019. These awards serve as a demonstration of the high degree of professionalism and outstanding safety culture within participating companies. In total, nearly 1,000 companies and individuals were recognised for accident/incident-free operations during the year.

Two member companies are being honoured for their extraordinarily long histories of safe flying: Tri-State G&T is being recognised for 60 years of accident-free flying, and First Horizon National Corp. is being recognised for 50 years of accident-free flying.

“We are proud to recognise member companies and individuals for their years of safe operations; this has been a vital focus for the association since its inception in 1947,” says NBAA president and CEO Ed Bolen. “These award recipients are leaders, not only because of their safety records, but in all aspects of their operations.”

The Flying Safety Awards programme was launched in 1953 by the NBAA board of directors to promote a culture of safety in business aviation operations. NBAA is committed to making business aviation as safe as possible and encourages all members to participate in the awards programme to enhance safe operations and gain recognition for their outstanding performance.

NBAA has also recognised nine recipients of its annual Dr. Tony Kern Professionalism in Aviation Award, which honours individuals in the business aviation industry for outstanding professionalism and leadership in support of aviation safety.

The 2020 Kern Award winners are: Erika Armstrong, Chris Bing, Sean Breen, Sheryl Clarke, Jeff Duncan, Terry Ickes, Mitch Launius, Brett Palmiero and Nicholas Treglia.

“This year's Kern Professionalism Award winners are committed to excellence in all areas and point to a strong future in the business aviation industry,” says Mark Larsen, NBAA senior manager of safety and flight operations. “We are proud to honour these nine individuals from all sectors of the industry for representing the high level of professionalism championed by Dr. Kern.”

NBAA has also recognised dual-engine flameout pilots Bruce Monnier and Gerald Downs with its first-ever NBAA Above and Beyond Airmanship Award. The award, which was created by NBAA's Safety Committee to recognise action taken to avoid injury, loss of life or catastrophic business aircraft damage, was presented during a Safety Town Hall, which took place during NBAA's first-ever Virtual Safety Week.

The association has also unveiled the 2020 Business Aviation Top 40 Under 40, which recognises rising leaders who are driving innovation within the industry. “In all segments of our industry, young people across the world are breaking down barriers and leading business aviation into a bright future,” comments Bolen. “We're privileged to shine a light on these exceptional individuals who exemplify professional success, innovative thinking and commitment to their communities.”

This year's third annual Top 40 Under 40 list was selected by NBAA's Young Professionals (YoPro) Council, a group of business aviation professionals and NBAA staff liaisons working to build relationships between the industry's emerging leaders.

Other News
Capitol Hill reintroduces ALIGN to delight of NBAA
May 3, 2021
Immediate expensing allows eligible taxpayers to deduct the full cost of qualifying capital equipment, including new and used business aircraft, in the first year of ownership. It is part of the ALIGN Act, popular with NBAA.
Stimulus package welcomed by NBAA and NATA
March 15, 2021
Dickson to impart wisdom at NBAA virtual event
February 22, 2021
The Virtual Business Aviation Town Hall marks Steve Dickson's second NBAA appearance, following an August 2020 discussion that addressed COVID-related topics. The upcoming event will have time for questions.
Virtual series offers chance to connect for EBACE delegates
February 15, 2021
Unchartered waters force show cancellations
February 8, 2021
Although vaccination programmes are ramping up, there is a long road ahead in Europe for travel to be safe. With this in mind, EBAA and NBAA have decided that EBACE2021 cannot go ahead in its traditional format.
Associations beseech IRS to reform FET
February 7, 2021