This website uses cookies
More information
Business Air News Bulletin
Business Air News Bulletin
The monthly news publication for aviation professionals.

Why visit ACE ’24?

Related background information from the Handbook...
The monthly news publication for aviation professionals.

Request your printed copy

NATA rewards members for serving customers and communities
NATA highlights aviation professionals who promote a safety-first culture, provide superior service and strive for industry excellence, no matter the circumstance, and especially during a challenging year.

The National Air Transportation Association (NATA) has announced the recipients of its 2019-2020 Industry Excellence Awards. The award winners will accept their respective honours virtually and be featured across NATA's online channels.

“Throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, our members have served as leaders assisting both their customers and their communities. We are honoured to highlight aviation professionals who promote a safety-first culture, provide superior service and strive for industry excellence, no matter the circumstance,” states NATA president and CEO Timothy Obitts. “We applaud the five awardees for 2019-2020 and look forward to honouring deserving individuals and organisations across all Industry Excellence Awards categories for 2020-2021.”

NATA is pleased to honour the following 2019-2020 recipients:

The Airport Executive Partnership Award recognises an airport manager for outstanding efforts to nurture the relationships between aviation businesses and airport operators. Winner: Diane Crews, president and CEO, Orlando Sanford International airport.

The Excellence in Pilot Training Award recognises an individual or organisation that has made outstanding contributions in safety, professionalism, leadership and excellence in the field of pilot training. Winner: Todd Shellnut, CFI academy standardisation manager, ATP Flight School.

The NATA Safety 1st Certified Line Service Professional Award recognises the achievements of certified line service professionals on an annual basis, thereby raising awareness of the positive impact that they have on safety, service and business success. Winner: Ernest Felix, line service technician, Bohlke International Airways.

The NATA FBO Customer Service Representative Award recognises the valuable impact FBO CSRs have on the success of the industry. Winner: Betsy Santos-Torres, customer service supervisor, Bohlke International Airways.

The NATA Future Leader Award recognises an individual who has shown outstanding promise, passion and professionalism within the general aviation community. Winner: Jessica Naor, COO, GrandView Aviation

“We are proud to recognise the accomplishments of these dedicated and talented individuals,” Obitts continues. “These peer-nominated awardees serve as role models, contributing daily to help the general aviation community thrive. They truly epitomise the industry's highest standards in safety, service and professionalism.”

NATA is accepting award nominations for the 2020-2021 award period until 30 June 2021.

Other News
NATA recertifies Textron-owned service centres as green
April 17, 2024
Singapore, Paris, Zurich and Indianapolis centres maintain Tier 1 status, phasing out single use plastics and with motion-sensor lighting, energy-efficient appliances and plumbing, and the Valencia centre achieves Tier 2.
Brendel moves up in NATA member services
April 16, 2024
As associate vice president, Alexandra Brendel will expand the association's influence and membership footprint by fostering new partnerships and exploring novel ways to better serve the community.
Organisations warn of budget harm to an essential American industry
March 18, 2024
NATA strengthens aviation security advocacy and expertise
March 12, 2024
Go Rentals completes NATA Safety 1st training programme
December 28, 2023